MOORISH VILLAGE LA ROCA
History
DESCRIPTION
This Moorish farmstead had 10 families in 1563, the same as other farmhouses of the valley, which belonged initially to the parish of Gallinera and since 1574 to Alcalà de la Jovada. With the expulsion of the Muslims (or new Christians) in 1609 it was depopulated, but from 1611 it was again repopulated by old Christians.
The visible remains belong to a single architectural complex, consisting of about five adjacent units, perfectly aligned from east to west, with a common party wall, and with the façades looking out over the way. The internal structure is one common to Moorish domestic architecture, with aisles arranged, in variable number, around courtyards, although with strong modifications that alter the original scheme clearly.
The predominant constructive techniques are ordinary masonry (with cement and/or lime mortar) and coursed masonry with stones laid obliquely, which is at the base of several walls and corresponds to a time period earlier than the expulsion (15th-16th centuries).
ADDRESS:
Camí del Rabosot de coleto, km 1
La Vall d'Alcalà
Alicante

